To Tweet or Not to Tweet That is the Question

Seems to be a lot of speculation about Twitter these days. The growing pains it has recently experienced has been frustrating to say the least. Several blog posts have pointed to an exodus to Friendfeed (LISs StevenK‘, LibLime’s Nicole Engard) due to frustrations felt at the recent ALA conference.

Many are jumping ships to other sites such as Plurk, Kwippy, Identi.ca, Pownce, etc. Friendfeed is also gaining some of the ex-Tweeters. I am signed up on all of them as mlibrarianus.

My main problem with leaving Twitter is my “friends” or followers. Some are on Plurk or one or two on Kwippy or several on Friendfeed but none of them are all in one place like Twitter. Sure I can send invites from these other sites to get my followers to jump ship but which one? I’ve yet to find one that I like better than Twitter at the moment.  Plus what I like about Twitter is all the different apps that have spawn out of it. Spaz, Twirl, Twitterfox, Twitwheel, TweetLater and my all time favorite Twitterfeed.  I know Friendfeed has several applications as well but I’m not hooked on Friendfeed like I am Twitter.

Friendfeed certainly does have some attractive features (being able to link to all your social networks and have display in one place).  I guess it’s the age old problem – lead, follow or get out of the way.

Lead – if you lead and have plenty of followers fine, your friends are there along side you.  However, if you lead to a place they don’t like you are left out in cyber space alone.

Follow – not always the best path to take but you are never alone.

Get out of the way - maybe the best approach to just sit back and let everyone fight it out?

Thinking that I’ll just let the dust settle a bit and then see what’s the next big thing.  Until then I’ll Tweet away while Plurking my Kwips all on Friendfeed.

One Response to To Tweet or Not to Tweet That is the Question

  1. Pingback: Who Moved My FriendFeed? « Tech from the Non-Techie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

