When Is Too Much, Too Much?

Image representing Twitter as depicted in Crun...
Image via CrunchBase

I am probably going to be in the minority on this one.  But how many Tweets is too many?

Does your message get diluted if you Tweet too much on Twitter or does it get diluted if you have too many followers?

How do you balance the right amount of Tweets to keep your followers engaged vs. overwhelmed?  Keep in mind I’m thinking more along the lines of an official account versus a personal account but I think it can apply to both.  Is one man’s not enough another man’s too much?

I subscribe to several Twitter accounts that are linked to libraries or businesses – some of them Tweet quite often while others rarely.  I don’t seem to have a problem with the ones that Tweet more (I quickly glance at the Tweet that pops up in Twhirl and move on – just like those Thunderbird pop ups that let me know I have a new email).  Some say you overwhelm your customers/consumers if you Tweet often.  Not sure I agree with that.  The ones that don’t Tweet much at all are doing their customers the real disservice.  Don’t taunt me, tease me into thinking I can communicate with you via Twitter and then give me nothing or very little.  Is more than 10, 20, 30, 50, 100 Tweets a day too much?  Is it really about a number?  Shouldn’t it be about content?  Shouldn’t the real measure be whether or not you are providing your customers/consumers with content of value and a way for them to reach you?

So what do you think?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
One Response to When Is Too Much, Too Much?

  1. Janie says:

    I have been struggling with this question lately. I am in charge of PPL’s Twitter account and do 90% of the tweets. I have been trying to tweet at least once per day, but not more than 3 or 4 times. I miss a day here and there. I don’t want the library to be considered “spam” and I want the tweets to be informational. I will be watching the comments here to see what others think.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

