Deserted Island Reads

Most people have a list, or in some cases an actual tape/cd, of their favorite songs they couldn’t do without if they were stranded on a deserted island. ABC.com and Lost have done it one better – Lost Book Club. Inspired by my addiction to Lost, I created a display at the Central library.


Using the letter from Damon Lindelof and Carlton Cuse (posted on the ABC.com web site) as the basis for my sign, I then divided the cube into 3 seasons. Using the top layer for the DVDs of Lost, I then arranged the books below them that corresponded with the appropriate season.

I’m honored that they allowed me to set this up directly in front of our circulation desk. I’ve been told this is the equivalent of the candy/gum rack at the grocery store. Except I’m hoping that kids of all ages will check out items from my display.

Just a few more pics of my handy work. I’m a bit proud as this is my first book display, ever!

3 Responses to Deserted Island Reads

  1. izikavazo says:

    Good stuff, I should see if my library could do that.

  2. Carleton Place Public Library says:

    I love this idea. I posted about the Lost reading club a while ago and vowed to start reading the selections. So far, I’ve managed Jurassic Park and Are You There God, It’s Me Margaret. Your idea is so fun! Nice to see that some libraries are interested in pop culture ideas!

  3. Pingback: deserted island reads (lost book club update) | walking paper

Leave a Reply

