Girl Power

This won’t come as a big surprise to many female librarians I know (and probably an equal amount of male librarians as well) … the Power of Female Blogging.

This statement from the article struck me –

“Today, women are not only the most powerful consumers in the world, we’re also the power users of Web 2.0 and social media technologies,” said Lisa Stone, BlogHer co-founder.

If I looked around my office, my library branch, my system I would agree.  But then my field (IT) is more male than female (although in our office we have 50/50).  The guys in the office haven’t heard of Twitter, don’t blog and only buy computer components.  My main profession (library) that I work for, however, is predominately female (but you boys are coming on strong).  More of us gals have Facebook pages, Twitter, FriendFeed, blog and/or wiki not to mention some serious online shopping.  Population statistics say that females out number men so is Lisa’s statement really all that earth shattering?  Would by sheer numbers females be more powerful consumers and users of the web?

Interesting to know if other professions find that the women in their work place are the power bloggers, power consumers and are leading with the social media.

2 Responses to Girl Power

  1. Julie says:

    girls heart software, boys heart hardware? i mean, i hate to generalize and sound sexist but, at least for your office it sounds like it holds water.

    i, on the other hand, can generalize this way: my library friends love the software (twitter, fb, blogging, etc), and my non library friends love the hardware.

  2. The (almost) Bald Trainer says:

    In my office, the computer techs are split evenly, but of the four, only one completed the 23 things offered last year. The others consider things that they did not put on staff comptuers to be “ahem” certified returned as problem.

    I think that there are a number of male library bloggers that are jeading the pack in conjunction with female bloggers.

    IMHO, this is a good thing. Besides..the world needs more women in IT and men in libraryland.

Leave a Reply

