Just When I Had Given Up

I logged into my Facebook account this morning to be greeted by an email from the Head of Marketing and Public Relations where I work. She was inviting me to become a fan of the new Howard County Library presence on Facebook!

Well of course I would become a fan. I had been trying to get this accomplished myself. I had held a meeting of staff members that were on Facebook – documented their ideas and was going to make a proposal.

I was a little leery about it as I had been told that one other staff member had already tried to get Admin to allow us to have an official presence on Facebook but was turned down. I was turned down to attend an OCLC training class on libraries on Facebook and MySpace. I felt that the time wasn’t right and thought it best to bide my time.

So this is a bittersweet victory. I’m thrilled to see us finally move out into the social networking world in an official capacity but feel a little bit disappointed that I didn’t have more of a hand in it’s birth.

So if you are on Facebook, please join me in becoming a fan of the Howard County Library.

Leave a Reply

