A Little Help From My Friends

Okay, I’m stumped.  I thought this would be easy but I’ve hit a audio mental block.  I started another playlist on FineTune which has to have song titles, song lyrics, or names of groups/artists that have a geographic location in the name.  Doesn’t mean the song has to be about that place just include it (e.g. China by Tori Amos isn’t about the country of China).

Here is what I have so far but I need 19 more tracks before it’s playable.  HELP!

America
A Horse With No Name
Ventura Highway
Tin Man

Asia
Only Time will Tell
Sole Survivor

The Beatles
Back in the U.S.S.R.

Boz Scaggs
Georgia

David Bowie
China Girl
Young Americans

David Bowie & Mick Jagger
Dancing in the Streets

The Eagles
Hotel California

Europe
The Final Countdown
Rock the Night

Frank Sinatra
New York New York

Georgia Satellites
Keep Your Hands to Yourself

Prince
America

R.E.M.
Radio Free Europe

Ray Charles
Georgia On My Mind

Red Hot Chili Peppers
Around the World
Dani California

The Presidnets of the United States of America
Lump
Peaches
Video Killed the Radio Star

The Psychedelic Furs
Sister Europe

The Sugarhill Gang/Grand Master Flash & The Furious Five
New York New York

Thomas Dolby
Europa and the Pirate Twins

Tori Amos
China

Was (Not Was)
I Blew Up the United States

4 Responses to A Little Help From My Friends

  1. theycallmetater says:

    Nothing from the band Chicago?

  2. baldgeekinmd says:

    Three off the top of my head

    b52’s private idaho
    Short People by randy newman (Baltimore is mentioned, no?)
    Walk on the Wild Side, Lou Reed (Miami, FL among others)
    Led Zepplin Going to California
    Otis Redding Sitting by the dock of the bay

  3. mlibrarianus says:

    Good suggestions both of you. Thanks.

  4. stacey says:

    Okay, I got a little carried away…this was pretty fun! I went through what’s on my mp3 player….

    Billy Joel:
    Allentown
    Say Goodbye to Hollywood
    New York State of Mind
    Good Night Saigon
    Movin’ Out (Who needs a house out in Hackensack?)
    We Didn’t Start the Fire
    Leningrad

    Bruce Springsteen
    Hungry Heart (Got a wife and kids in Baltimore, Jack….)

    Duran Duran
    Rio
    Planet Earth

    The Clash
    London Calling

    from Hairspray soundtrack:
    Good Morning Baltimore
    Miss Baltimore Crabs

    Weird Al Yankovic
    Genius in France
    Canadian Idiot (And dream of drivin’ a Zamboni All over Saskatchewan)

    Brian Setzer Orchestra
    Pennsylvania 6-5000

    Mamma Mia soundtrack/ABBA
    Money, Money, Money (So I must leave, I’ll have to go
    To Las Vegas or Monaco)
    Super Trouper (When I called you last night from Glasgow)
    Waterloo

    Daniel Powter
    Hollywood

    Elton John
    Philadelphia Freedom

    from The Producers soundtrack
    In Old Bavaria

    The Bacon Brothers
    Philadelphia Chickens

    Rascal Flatts
    Life is a Highway (From Mozambique to those Memphis nights The Khyber Pass to Vancouver’s lights)

    Sting
    Englishman in New York

    Tony Bennett
    I Left My Heart in San Fransisco

    Jim Gill
    Alabama, Mississippi (okay, this is a kids’ song!)

    [these aren’t on my mp3 player, but one thing led to another…]

    how about anything by the band Alabama?

    The Charlie Daniels Band
    The Devil Went Down to Georgia

    REM
    (Don’t Go Back to) Rockville

    Coldplay
    Streets of Baltimore

    I’d better stop now…..

Leave a Reply

