Give Peace a Chance

A phrase was used the other day at a meeting that just didn’t sit right with me.  “Not to start the open source wars again….

This bothered me because I don’t see any reason or need for there to be a war, battle, skirmish, contention whatever.  Why can’t we all just get along and accept that different open source products work for different people?  So you prefer Ubuntu or Suse or Koha or Evergreen or Joomla or Drupal…I’m just happy that you are thinking about, exploring, using an open source product.  Do I care if your library prefers one of these over another?  No, and nor should you.

One of the beauties of open source is the community.  But it doesn’t help if the different factions of this community are more concerned with their product being number 1 or the best that they can’t learn from each others product of choice.  What does Product X do better than Product Y – take that idea and incorporate it into Product Y to make it better for you then share it with the rest of the community.  What works for me may not work for you and your library – that needs to be acknowledged and accepted.  Difference of opinion is beautiful when done correctly.  When you share with me your ideas (not cram down my throat or proselytize) and let me decide what works for me then true collaboration can take place.

Call me a bleeding heart liberal, call me a flower child but all I’m saying is give peace (and open source a try).

3 Responses to Give Peace a Chance

  1. Are the different factions really concerned with this?? I know as one of the Koha developers im not, I’m concerned with making Koha work as well as it can.
    I suspect the people who are concerned are those who have a business model around selling services based on one or more of these products.

  2. mlibrarianus says:

    Chris let me clarify – what I meant is more the different libraries that embrace open source. I consider them part of the community especially if they are (like us) contributing to the source code. What I hate to see is someone saying “But my Daddy can beat up your Daddy” kind of thing.

  3. Chris says:

    Ahh right, yep i’m with you totally on that count.

Leave a Reply

