Open Mouth, Insert Both Feet

*sigh*  I should have known it wasn’t going to be a good day.  Both dogs (Lab mix and English Springer Spaniel) slept with me last night but due to windows being opened decided to alert me every 2 hours that something was in our yard.  God knows if there really was anything out there other than our usual visitors (deer).  But my sleep circle was off to say the least.

I seem to be on a roll today.  I’ve managed to open mouth insert foot at least 3 times this morning.  Twice on the web and once in person (although that one was a setup by my boss who was laughing the whole time).  That maybe a new record.

I’ve prided myself, up until now, on keeping snarky/opinionated comments out of social networking feeds.  For several reasons – a) my feeds are subscribed to by more than just family or friends but many co-workers and fellow library people and b) the old adage still holds true … “if you can’t say anything nice, don’t say anything at all”.  Obviously I didn’t follow directions well today.

I made the terrible mistake of commenting on something from our staff Intranet.  It was my opinion but since it wasn’t worded in the best manner it should have stayed inside my head where it would have done no harm.  Instead I vocalized to the social networking community.  I thought I was being smart by not posting it to Twitter but to FriendFeed instead.  Something told me that I should haven’t posted it but I thought “Pshaw, no one will read this on FriendFeed so I’m safe.”  FAIL!

I completely forgot that not only Twitter but FriendFeed as well feeds into my Facebook account.  Lo and behold the comment that I didn’t want known was read by the person I didn’t want to read it because they are a friend on Facebook.   How’d did I find this out?  That person graciously sent me a humorous comment on my status.  Talk about 20 shades of red.

So what did I learn?  Don’t post snarky/opinionated comments to your social networking sites?  No, I knew not to do that but instead I learned that if I don’t have anything nice to say that it belongs inside my head not out on the web.

So since I publicly made a comment I figured the best way to apologize is to also do it publicly and ironically through social networking sites.  My blog feeds into Twitter, FriendFeed and my Facebook account.  So hopefully the gracious person with a great sense of humor will read my most sincere apology and know that I learned a big lesson today.  I can’t thank them enough for not calling me out but instead using humor to diffuse what could have been a nasty situation if they had chosen that route.  They took the high road where I did not.  I am humbled by their choice and will apply it to all my future Tweets/Feeds/Posts.

2 Responses to Open Mouth, Insert Both Feet

  1. Amy DeGroff says:

    We talked about this today — but I remain interested in this fusion / breakdown of public / private. I threw up some photos from a trip tom and I took — and made them a picasa page and to see them on face book they had to be public. Monday, I noticed that someone had posted sexy as a comment on one and I don’t know who it was. Now, that my 40 year old bum is sexy is kind of nice, but it did make me realize, wait, I have professional contacts here, maybe they should not see me in a bathing suit — but I am too lazy to have 2 portals and I don’t look that repulsive and they don’t have to look — but then if no one is looking why post them.. you follow me? The world is changing – so i am not sure……………………….

  2. mlibrarianus says:

    Yes, there is a blurring of public/private the more social we become on the web. I should have known better. I got an email that wasn’t suppose to come to me but was about me. I know how horrible I felt to read someone’s inner thoughts about something I had asked. I should have kept that in mind when I made the comment I did. Even if my social network had been more private the comment should never have been made outside my head.

Leave a Reply

