Silver for My Golden Boy

I couldn’t be a prouder Mom right now if I tried. For the first time in my son’s school career (he is a senior in high school) he has made the honor roll. While he may have come home with a B or 2 here or even on occasion an A he has never had a report card like this one. I always knew he had it in him. He is a bright, smart kid but one who was never motivated enough to show the world what his parents knew about him…..until now. My favorite comment was from his English teacher “Demonstrates a serious approach to subject” – in ENGLISH no less!

The little pipsqueak (well no so little he towers over me now at 6′) got his report card today and waited until a few minutes ago to show me. The whole 45 minute commute home, time before and after dinner not a peep out of him. When he did finally hand it to me it was red. My first thought was “Oh no, he has failed and in his senior year!” – then I saw the stamp about honor roll on it. At first I thought it said senior honor role but it was silver. He said they have silver and gold honor roll. I don’t care if it was bronze, to me it is golden.

Immediately told my husband, called his father to share the news, grandparents and then online to shout it to the world via Twitter, Friendfeed and Facebook (being the Web 2.0 person that I am). Needless to say the air is electric in my household tonight. If I can’t stop grinning tomorrow you’ll know why.

One Response to Silver for My Golden Boy

  1. Karen says:

    I know exactly how you feel. Kevin is a freshman this year and up til now he’s been determined to do as little work as possible in school. His report cards have been mediocre at best, poor at worst. Today he brought home 6 A’s and 1 B. He said, “I told you I was going to do a turn around when I got to High School Mom.” Little stinker. Isn’t it great when it all comes together for them?
    Congratulations MOM.

Leave a Reply

