Who Moved My FriendFeed?

Image representing FriendFeed as depicted in C...
Image via CrunchBase

By now most folks who use Friendfeed know that it was acquired by Facebook yesterday.  If you visit Friendfeed today you’ll see lots of gloom and doom predictions, rats leaving the sinking ship and so on.  Ah, human nature is amazing to behold in action.  Move someone’s cheese and they just can’t handle it.

I’m not saying you have to like Facebook, I’m not saying you have to stay if you don’t feel like it but let’s wait and see if all that you are sure is going to happen, happens.  I remember when I first started at Friendfeed everyone was predicting the fall of Twitter – everyone is moving over here they won’t use Twitter.  I even blogged about this and letting the dust settle before I made any rash decisions or predictions.

I maybe one of the few at Friendfeed that love both sites and use them differently.  I don’t know what is going to happen (and neither do any of you who aren’t employeed by Facebook).  So let’s just sit back, see what happens and for once not assume the worst.  If you have to leave based on some princple then go but do it quietly please.

I guess my quote on my Momentile profile says it all – “Embrace change because it’s going to happen anyway.”   If you have been around the interwebs for any time at all you should know by now that things change, sites get bought out, new ones become the golden child and tried but true ones fade away.  It will be an interesting next couple of months to see just what happens to Friendfeed and who stays or goes.  Maybe I should have gone into psychiatry – manking and the way they thing/react is indeed very interesting to study.

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 Responses to Who Moved My FriendFeed?

  1. Colleen says:

    I don’t know that it’s change itself freaking folks out, but the way facebook and Friendfeed have handled their user’s data has been very different, with FF being very transparent and open to feedback and change requests, while FB has been markedly more sneaky about using people’s uploaded photos in their various advertisements without any bold print (so users found out when folks started blogging about it). I’ll be interested to see how this affects the FF service and whether FB pulls any major changes about their use of people’s material.

  2. mlibrarianus says:

    Colleen,

    All valid points. I guess I just want to wait and see what is going to happen. Then I can take the appropriate action. Some folks on FF are just panicking (in my book) and are not coming at it from a logical standpoint like you are. It will be interesting no matter what to see how this all unfolds.

  3. Bobbi says:

    but, but the sky is falling! 🙂

Leave a Reply

