What Constitutes a Blog Post?

Twice today I’ve retweeted something I felt was worthy of letting my followers know.  Both times the links in the retweet went to someone’s blog post that was pretty much nothing other than a link to the original article or blog post.  Being the devil that I am and because I want the original author to get credit, I retweeted but changed the link so it went to the ORIGINAL article/post.

This got me thinking – what constitutes a blog post?  I mean with sites like Twitter, Facebook, Digg, Diigo, Delicious, and apps like ShareThis is it necessary (or even right) to create a blog post that only links to the original article with little to no content added by you?  Are we really using blogs in the right manner if posts become a version of the aforementioned sites?

Curious, what constitutes a blog post for you?

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
11 Responses to What Constitutes a Blog Post?

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention What Constitutes a Blog Post? « Tech from the Non-Techie -- Topsy.com

  2. Jim Peterson says:

    Usually a blog post comes from a personal experience that to me has import among my fellow librarians and/or geeks. That being said, I have re-posted other’s blogs once or twice for the very same reason.

    Sometimes my blogs are just ramblings on, but then again aren’t they all if they hold no interest for you as a reader?

    • mlibrarianus says:

      Jim,

      I agree with a blog being personal experience or observation in my words. I guess I’m just a little befuddled by folks who just post a link to another blog post or article without adding any comments/content of their own. With the ability to have widgets or badges on your blog linking to sites such as Delicious, Digg, Facebook, Twitter, etc. I’m not sure I understand the reason why a blog post should just be in essence a retweet. But then again I tend to be a purist on things when others have looser interpretations – neither which is wrong.

      Beth

  3. pollyalida says:

    If a blog post really is just a link back to the original post, I’ll link back to the original post in my tweets. On the other hand, if the reposting blog adds some reflection or content, then that post gets the direct link.

    I don’t see anything wrong with those kinds of “reposts” though. Sometimes I’ll catch a post that way that I would have missed otherwise.

    • mlibrarianus says:

      Polly,

      I don’t know if it’s wrong and that is why I guess I asked how others felt. I admit that I can be purist when it comes to some things. I don’t mind someone linking to a blog post from another author just add some content. I guess if they don’t add comes across as either lazy (I couldn’t be bothered to write anything here but I thought this was interesting) or as a way to just create traffic or have large numbers of posts. Here is where my purist mentality comes in. Guess I’d rather have quality (not saying that all my posts have been that) than quantity. Again this is strictly my way of thinking and the great thing about the world is different strokes for different folks.

      B

  4. Francesco says:

    Sometimes it is difficult to state which is the source of your post to give credit to. I tend, if possible, to give credit to both the sources: the “original” post (which constitues the main information) and the post which I retweet (which is the way I could know about the first one).
    In any case, I see twitter a more convenient service for such a kind of “short” information.
    Regards (sorry for my bad english)
    Francesco

    • mlibrarianus says:

      Francesco,

      Thanks for your reply and don’t worry about your English you did just fine. I agree in seeing Twitter and other social web sites as a way to spread the word about a blog post or article.

      Beth

  5. Bobbi Newman says:

    I think anything you want constitutes a blog post. Some of the most useful blogs I follow are mostly reposts, Librarian in Black and Stephen’s Lighthouse come to mind. They might add a comment to the posts but they are generally short.

    sharing links on Twitter is great, but if I’m not logged in when you share it I miss it. However if your blog is in my reader I will see the information later. I’ve actually been making an effort to share more of the links I post on twitter on my blog. I know not everyone who reads my blog follows me on Twitter or they may miss the tweet. I’ve been considering adding a links shared this week type on Twitter blog post on Fridays.

    If you’re gong to retweet you shouldn’t change the link to the primary post. You heard/read about it from the secondary source you need to give that source credit too. The primary source isn’t missing any hits because of it and you are sharing with your followers where you heard it which in some cases is just as important as the main content. I suppose if you really feel strongly about it you could create a whole new tweet with a direct link. But again you’re cutting out the source you heard it from.

    • pollyalida says:

      Like Bobbi, I’ve been meaning to do a regular posting of links tweeted/noted etc too. Just need to do it! 🙂 I suspect that most people who read my blog, don’t follow me on twitter or anywhere else.

      I don’t keep twitter up all the time, my brain can’t deal with the distraction. So I miss lots of good stuff that I then am likely to run across in my reader.

  6. I do alot of reblogging (with attribution) for a couple of reasons: If I really learned something from the post and want to commit it to memory I’ll reblog it so that it’s added to my learning environment, though an equally interesting post might just rate a social share. The most important part of reblogging (to me) is that it will trackback to the original author’s blog, giving it more authority and ranking.

  7. mlibrarianus says:

    Going to cheat and reply to 3 in one here.

    Bobbi/Polly/Marianne – I will admit I’m being a purist and yes, you are probably right that anything can constitute a blog post (but that doesn’t necessarily mean it should or so I believe). I agree that not everyone who reads my blog follows me on Twitter or sees my Digg’s or Delicious/Diigo bookmarks. However, those that follow me on Twitter do get a link back to my blog each time I post thanks to Twitterfeed when it’s working. Also I have widgets/badges that link to my other sites (need to get one up for Diigo and Delicious) so those that do follow the blog but not me on other social sites can link over. I’m not so concerned about hits or giving credit so much as I’m wondering are we using the right tool for the right purpose? If I like an article a lot I Digg it or save it to Delicious/Diigo. If I want to share an article further I Tweet it of link it on my Facebook. I guess I see my blog as my opinion about different things and not other way to bookmark or favorite links. Again, this is just me and I do appreciate (and love) that we are friends yet we often don’t see eye to eye. It is what makes the world go round – different strokes for different folks. And you have all given me food for thought. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

